Principal généralCouronne de gloire, Gloriosa rothschildiana / superba - soins et hivernage

Couronne de gloire, Gloriosa rothschildiana / superba - soins et hivernage

  • portrait
  • emplacement
  • Sol / substrat
  • plante
    • treillis
    • seau Culture
  • soins
    • verser
    • fertiliser
    • rempotage
    • coupe
    • toxicité
  • hiverner
  • multiplier
  • maladies

La couronne de gloire (Gloriosa superba), également connue sous le nom de Flame Lily ou Prachtlilie, est une plante vivace exotique recherchée. Avec ses fleurs d'un rouge vif, semblables à celles du lis, à l'ourlet jaune, cet arbuste vivace attire particulièrement l'œil, car il provient des régions subtropicales d'Asie occidentale et d'Afrique. À l’automne, la plante vivace se retire dans ses organes de stockage souterrains pour pouvoir en sortir à nouveau après une période de repos l’année prochaine. Malheureusement, la vigne ne tolère pas les températures fraîches.

portrait

  • nom botanique: Gloriosa superba (anciennement Gloriosa rothschildiana)
  • Genre: gloriosa
  • appartient à la famille des plantes intemporelles (Colchicaceae)
  • Noms communs: couronne de gloire, lis de gloire, lis d'escalade, lis de flamme
  • vivace, vigne herbacée
  • Hauteur de croissance: 1, 5 à 2 m
  • Feuilles: vert brillant, appendice en forme de vrille au sommet
  • Fleur: fleurs axillaires, pétales retournés après s'être ouverts
  • Période de floraison: juin à août
  • Fruits: fruit en forme d'oeuf avec de nombreuses graines
  • Origine: forêts humides d'Asie et d'Afrique
  • pas robuste
  • très toxique
  • non tolérant au calcaire

emplacement

Le grimpeur aux fleurs spectaculaires ne peut prospérer sainement et fort que s'il se trouve dans un endroit idéal. La Gloriosa superba a besoin de beaucoup de lumière. Cependant, la plante ne supporte pas bien le soleil radieux de midi, car ses feuilles et ses fleurs brûlent rapidement dans ces conditions extrêmes. Bien que la couronne de gloire pousse également à l'ombre partielle, dans ce cas, la splendeur de la floraison est considérablement réduite.

  • Exigence de lumière: ensoleillé à léger mi-ombre
  • ne tolère pas le soleil de midi
  • chaud aussi constamment que possible
  • Température: 17 à 22 degrés
  • pas de grandes fluctuations de température
  • à l'abri
  • ne tolère pas l'air sec (au moins 50 à 60% d'humidité)
  • fournir de l'ombrage au sud

Étant donné que le lis glory dépend d'un climat chaud et humide pendant la saison de croissance, il prospère de manière optimale dans les serres et les jardins d'hiver. Cependant, la plante s'entend bien aussi à l'extérieur, dans la mesure où les températures ne descendent pas en dessous de 18 degrés. Pour les copies qui se trouvent sur la terrasse ou le balcon, il est donc toujours nécessaire de consulter les prévisions météorologiques.

Sol / substrat

Gloriosa rothschildiana préfère les sols neutres et bien drainés. Beaucoup de terreaux ne conviennent pas à la culture de plantes grimpantes, car leur acidité est trop élevée (pH inférieur à 6, 5). Faites donc très attention aux informations sur l'emballage. En outre, le substrat doit être bien drainé de l'eau pour éviter l' engorgement . Un sol riche en humus, riche en humus et contenant du sable, est idéal.

  • houmous
  • perméable à l'eau
  • nutritif
  • valeur du pH: environ 7 (neutre)
  • Achetez du terreau de terreau spécial avec le pH approprié

Si le pH du substrat ou du sol n'est pas clairement défini, vous devez le vérifier à l'aide de bandelettes réactives. Des bandelettes réactives ou des tests de sol de pH sont disponibles dans la pharmacie ainsi que dans le centre de jardinage.

plante

Habituellement, la couronne de gloire est disponible dans le commerce sous la forme de tubercules radiculaires allongés (rhizomes). La plante forme des organes de stockage souterrains, épais comme les doigts, similaires aux tubercules de dahlias ou d’autres plantes vivaces. Dans ces tubercules, la plante grimpante pérenne survit à des conditions climatiques défavorables. Pour qu'un jeune plant vigoureux émerge au printemps, ces rhizomes doivent être plats - c'est-à-dire parallèles au sol - et non plantés verticalement. Vous pouvez soit préférer les organes de rangement de la maison, soit les planter directement dans le champ après les dernières gelées de la mi-mai.

  • Temps pour la pré-reproduction à la maison: mars à avril
  • planter directement dans le champ: à partir de mi-mai
  • greffer doucement (couché)
  • Les rhizomes se cassent facilement
  • Profondeur de plantation: environ 3 cm
  • Porter des gants (le tubercule est toxique)
  • Température: environ 22 degrés
  • humidité élevée

Dès la plantation, vous pouvez créer les conditions optimales pour une prospérité saine. Assurez-vous que vous utilisez un substrat approprié pour permettre à Gloriosa superba de se développer vigoureusement et de se développer pleinement, immédiatement après la plantation. Si l'expulsion d'un œil est déjà reconnaissable sur l'organe de stockage, ce côté est planté légèrement surélevé. La meilleure offre de la plante dès le début à un treillis approprié.

L'enracinement prend quelques semaines, il faut donc un peu de patience. En attendant, il est nécessaire de maintenir le sol légèrement humide. Avant que les premières pousses apparaissent, il faut d’abord que les racines aient suffisamment poussé dans le sol. Montrer les premiers bouts de pousses au-dessus de la terre, la plante gagne chaque jour à la hauteur de croissance de dix centimètres ajoutée. À partir de la mi-mai, la plante peut être placée à un endroit bien éclairé sur le balcon, la terrasse ou le jardin. Assurez-vous de vous habituer à la couronne de gloire lentement au soleil. Pendant les deux premières semaines, elle devrait être mieux dans un endroit partiellement ombragé.

treillis

La couronne de gloire se réjouit d'une aide à l'escalade, où elle peut grimper au soleil. Si elle n'a aucun moyen de remonter, elle pousse simplement sur le sol au niveau du sol ou les pousses pendent sur le bord du pot. Une aide à l'escalade ne doit pas être très chère. Vous pouvez attacher les pousses simplement à une grille ou même grandir sur un morceau de clôture à mailles de chaîne sur un tuyau de descente ou une pergola. Alors que les jeunes vrilles doivent encore être guidés vers les bars, une plante établie monte généralement sans aide.

seau Culture

En règle générale, le lis d'escalade est cultivé avec nous comme une plante en conteneur et tiré dans l'appartement ou une véranda. En été, lorsque les températures sont supérieures à 18 degrés, l'installation peut également être placée dans un endroit protégé et ensoleillé sur le balcon ou la terrasse. S'il fait froid la nuit, le magnifique lis doit être temporairement transféré dans l'appartement, car il est très sensible au froid et aux fortes variations de température.

  • utilisez un pot solide en terre cuite ou en pierre
  • doit contenir des trous de drainage sur le fond
  • Diamètre: au moins 50 à 60 cm
  • choisissez des sous-verres plats au lieu de jardinières
  • Offre de treillis

soins

Si la Gloriosa rothschildiana a un emplacement optimal et un substrat approprié, elle poussera vigoureusement sans soin et produira de belles fleurs bizarres pendant l’été. Il est seulement nécessaire d'arroser régulièrement et de fertiliser la plante.

verser

Un niveau d'humidité moyen est suffisant pour la jolie plante à fleurs. Le substrat ne doit être ni en permanence humide ni en permanence. La coulée est toujours effectuée lorsque la couche supérieure de la motte est déjà légèrement sèche. Au début de l'automne, lorsque les fleurs et le feuillage se fanent lentement, les arrosages sont également arrêtés jusqu'au printemps.

  • verser seulement avec de l'eau tiède
  • mieux avec de l'eau pauvre en chaux
  • idéal est l'eau de pluie viciée

fertiliser

Si la couronne de gloire a été plantée dans un sol frais et riche en éléments nutritifs comme rhizome au printemps, il n’est pas nécessaire de la fertiliser au premier moment. Il est recommandé d'administrer un engrais à long terme après environ quatre semaines, qui fournit à la plante des éléments nutritifs tout au long de la saison de croissance. Alternativement, il est également possible de doser un engrais liquide pour plantes à fleurs sur l'eau d'irrigation. Ceci est nécessaire environ toutes les deux semaines.

rempotage

Le moment idéal pour rempoter est le printemps, juste avant que la couronne de gloire ne se réveille de son hibernation. Sortez les rhizomes en sommeil du sol ou de leurs quartiers d'hiver et enlevez toutes les parties mortes et malades. En règle générale, le vieux tubercule flétri de l'année précédente a formé de nombreux nouveaux rhizomes, qui peuvent maintenant être enlevés et plantés dans un substrat frais. Dans le même temps, bien entendu, le Gloriosa superba peut également être propagé. Veillez à porter des gants lorsque vous travaillez sur le tubercule car la couronne de la renommée est très toxique. Par conséquent, le contact cutané avec les jus de plantes qui fuient doit être évité à tout prix.

coupe

En principe, vous ne devriez couper le lis d'escalade pendant la saison de croissance que s'il devient trop gros. Sinon, en automne, lorsque le feuillage est desséché, une coupe radicale est nécessaire, qui est effectuée peu de temps au-dessus du sol. Avec la taille à l'automne, attendez que les pousses commencent à mourir par eux-mêmes. Couper les vrilles encore vertes, il se peut que la couronne de gloire ne puisse pas stocker suffisamment de nutriments dans les rhizomes pour expirer à nouveau l'année prochaine.

toxicité

La Gloriosa superba (Gloriosa rothschildiana) contient des alcaloïdes tels que la colchicine, que l’on trouve également dans l’automne intemporel. Toutes les parties de la plante, en particulier le tubercule de la couronne de gloire, sont donc extrêmement toxiques . Surtout dans leur pays d'origine, il y a parfois des intoxications mortelles avec le tubercule. Les premiers symptômes apparaissent après environ deux à six heures. En plus des brûlures dans la bouche et la gorge, il provoque de graves troubles gastro-intestinaux avec une diarrhée sanglante, des chutes de température et une transpiration, des crampes, une paralysie et un collapsus circulatoire. Une intoxication grave se produit une paralysie respiratoire. Un danger particulier existe pour:

  • petits enfants
  • Animaux
  • Femmes enceintes (les toxines sont mutagènes)

Immédiatement, habituez-vous à toucher et à couper le magnifique lis uniquement avec des gants pour ne pas entrer accidentellement en contact avec le jus de la plante. Et éliminez autant que possible les déchets ménagers.

hiverner

Après la floraison, la Gloriosa rothschildiana prend une pause et se retire dans les parties souterraines de la plante à l'automne. Si la plante commence à dépérir, elle ne sera plus arrosée. Le feuillage et les pousses meurent et peuvent être coupés. Les plantes qui ont été plantées à l'extérieur au printemps doivent être soigneusement excavées. Les rhizomes des plantes en pot peuvent être hivernés dans le pot. Pour empêcher les tubercules excavés de sécher excessivement en hiver, placez-les (comme des dahlias) dans une boîte de sable. Les parties encrassées ou endommagées doivent être coupées et l'interface désinfectée (avec de la poudre de charbon).

  • Température: 10 à 15 degrés
  • sombre
  • ne pas verser
  • ne pas fertiliser

Au début du printemps, ramenez la couronne de la renommée dans la pièce chaude, plantez-la dans un substrat frais et versez-la doucement. Après quelques instants, l'installation redémarrera.

multiplier

En règle générale, la couronne de gloire est augmentée par ses rhizomes allongés. La plante, plantée au printemps, ne survit que un an, mais forme de nouveaux rhizomes en été, qui sont stockés pendant l'hiver. À partir de mars, les tubercules épais peuvent être utilisés pour la culture de la nouvelle génération de couronnes Glory.

semence

Même à partir de graines de gloire, les couronnes peuvent être propagées. Semer la plante tropicale n'est pas pour les débutants, car ils sont très sensibles, en particulier aux germes. Vous avez besoin des éléments suivants:

  • effet de serre
  • alternativement planteur ou pots de culture
  • couvercle transparent
  • Sol de cactus, sol de graine

Le facteur le plus important dans l'ensemencement est que tous les ustensiles (y compris les graines) sont exempts de germes . Les jardinières peuvent être stérilisées à l’eau chaude ou au lave-vaisselle. Le substrat doit être chauffé au micro-ondes pendant quelques minutes pour éliminer tous les germes. Étant donné que les graines elles-mêmes peuvent déjà être infectées par des champignons et des bactéries, leur enveloppe doit également être désinfectée. La chaleur détruisant également la graine, elle est trempée pendant 24 heures dans un récipient sombre et scellable dans un mélange d’eau bouillie (et réfrigérée) et de peroxyde d’hydrogène (10 ml de peroxyde plus 100 ml d’eau). Ensuite, les graines sont placées sur le substrat humidifié avec une spatule en bois propre et recouvertes de substrat.

  • Couvercle (couvercle, plaque de verre, sac de congélation)
  • Température: 20 à 25 degrés
  • lumineux mais sans soleil direct
  • gardez-le uniformément humide
  • l'air de temps en temps
  • Temps de germination: 6 semaines (parfois plus longtemps)
  • seulement piquer après la formation d'au moins quatre à six feuilles

maladies

Dans l’ensemble, la couronne de gloire est l’une des plantes robustes qui tombent rarement mal à condition de bénéficier de soins optimaux. Des conditions de site et de sol incorrectes, ainsi que diverses erreurs d'entretien, peuvent conduire à une croissance insuffisante de la plante, à l'obtention de feuilles brunes ou à l'attaque de parasites.

pucerons

Les pucerons sont de plus en plus fréquents lorsque la plante est trop froide ou dans les courants d'air. Si les insectes nuisibles sont rincés à la douche et que les pousses atteintes sont coupées, la plante récupère généralement rapidement. De plus, l'humidité devrait être augmentée.

La plante ne fleurit pas

S'il n'y a toujours pas de fleurs à l'aisselle des feuilles jusqu'à la fin juin, quelque chose ne va pas. L'usine est très facile à entretenir. S'il ne fleurit pas, il peut avoir plusieurs causes:

  • trop peu de lumière
  • est sous le soleil ardent de midi (les boutons floraux ont un coup de soleil et se dessèchent)
  • trop d'azote dans le sol (seules des feuilles se formeront et la plante ne fleurira pas)

Si les pousses sont coupées trop tôt en automne, la couronne de gloire ne peut pas stocker suffisamment de nutriments dans les rhizomes nouvellement formés. Au printemps prochain, la plante germe ensuite et forme des pousses et des feuilles, mais elle ne fleurit pas, car il vous manque tout simplement le pouvoir de le faire. Par conséquent, le feuillage ne peut être coupé que lorsqu'il est déjà clairement fané.

Feuilles brunes

De fortes fluctuations de température entraînent un stress dû au froid ou à la chaleur chez Gloriosa rothschildiana. Ceci est exprimé par les feuilles jaunes et fanées. Si les températures ont trop baissé, les feuilles deviennent flasques et jaunes, parfois légèrement transparentes. Les plantes exposées au soleil brûlant de la mi-journée attrapent un coup de soleil et le feuillage devient argenté à brun et se dessèche. Les extrémités des feuilles brunes indiquent toutefois un manque d’eau ou une humidité trop basse.

Catégorie:
Pliez le tuyau de cuivre vous-même - Instructions pour les tuyaux à paroi mince
Meubles / Bois, égouttez-vous - Instructions de bricolage

Home generalCrown of Glory, Gloriosa rothschildiana / superba - care and wintering

Crown of Glory, Gloriosa rothschildiana / superba - care and wintering

  • Characteristics
  • Location
  • Soil / Substrate
  • plants
    • trellis
    • bucket Culture
  • maintenance
    • to water
    • Fertilize
    • repotting
    • To cut
    • toxicity
  • overwinter
  • multiply
  • Diseases

The glory crown (Gloriosa superba), also known as Flame Lily or Prachtlilie, is a sought after exotic perennial. With its bright red, lily-like flowers with yellow hem, the perennial shrub is an extraordinary eye-catcher. It originates from the subtropical regions of West Asia and Africa. In the fall, the perennial retreats into its underground storage organs, to drive out again after a period of rest in the coming year. Unfortunately, the vine does not tolerate cool temperatures.

Characteristics

  • botanical name: Gloriosa superba (formerly Gloriosa rothschildiana)
  • Genus: Gloriosa
  • belongs to the plant family of the timeless plants (Colchicaceae)
  • Common names: Glory Crown, Glory Lily, Climbing Lily, Flame Lily
  • perennial, herbaceous vine
  • Growth height: 1.5 to 2 m
  • Leaves: shiny green, tendril-like appendage at the top
  • Flower: axillary flowers, petals turn backwards after opening
  • Flowering period: June to August
  • Fruits: egg-shaped capsule fruit with numerous seeds
  • Origin: humid forests of Asia and Africa
  • not hardy
  • very poisonus
  • not limescale tolerant

Location

The climber with the spectacular flowers can only thrive healthy and strong if it is in an ideal location. The Gloriosa superba needs a lot of light. However, the plant does not cope well with the bright midday sun, because its leaves and flowers burn quickly in these extreme conditions. Although the crown of glory also grows in partial shade, in this case, the flowering splendor is reduced significantly.

  • Light requirement: sunny to light partial shade
  • does not tolerate noon sun
  • warm as constantly as possible
  • Temperature: 17 to 22 degrees
  • no big temperature fluctuations
  • sheltered
  • does not tolerate dry air (at least 50 to 60% humidity)
  • provide shading at south-facing location

Since the glory lily is dependent on a warm and humid climate in the growing season, it thrives optimally in greenhouses and winter gardens. However, the plant also gets along well outdoors, as far as the temperatures do not fall below 18 degrees. For copies that are on the terrace or the balcony, therefore, always a look at the weather forecast is necessary.

Soil / Substrate

The Gloriosa rothschildiana prefers a neutral, well-drained soil. Many potting soils are not suitable for growing the climbing plant, as their acidity is too high (pH below 6.5). Therefore, pay close attention to the information on the packaging. In addition, the substrate should be well drained of water to prevent waterlogging . Nutritious, humus rich soil with sand is ideal.

  • humous
  • permeable to water
  • nutritious
  • pH value: around 7 (neutral)
  • Buy special container potting soil with appropriate pH

If it is not clear what the substrate or soil pH is, you should check it using test strips. Test strips or pH soil tests are available in the pharmacy as well as in the garden center.

plants

Usually, the crown of glory is commercially available in the form of elongated root tubers (rhizomes). The plant forms underground, finger-thick storage organs, similar to the tubers of dahlias or other perennials. In these tubers the perennial climbing plant outlasts unfavorable climatic conditions. For a vigorous young plant to emerge in spring, these rhizomes must be flat - ie parallel to the ground - and not vertically planted. You can either prefer the storage organs in the house or plant them directly into the field after the last frosts in mid-May.

  • Time for pre-breeding in the house: March to April
  • plant directly in the field: from mid-May
  • gently transplant (lying)
  • Rhizomes break easily
  • Planting depth: about 3 cm
  • Wear gloves (the tuber is poisonous)
  • Temperature: around 22 degrees
  • high humidity

Already at the planting you can create optimal conditions for a healthy prosperity. Make sure that you use a suitable substrate to allow Gloriosa superba to grow vigorously and develop full flower power soon after planting. If the expulsion of an eye is already recognizable on the storage organ, this side is planted slightly raised. Best offer the plant right from the beginning to a suitable trellis.

The rooting takes a few weeks, so it is a little patience asked. In the meantime, it is necessary to keep the soil slightly moist. Before the first shoots show up, first of all the roots must have grown sufficiently into the soil. Show first shoot tips above the earth, the plant wins every day to the ten centimeters growth height added. From the middle of May onwards, the plant can be placed in a bright spot on the balcony, the terrace or in the garden. Make sure you get used to the glory crown slowly to the sun. For the first two weeks she should better be in a partially shaded place.

trellis

The crown of glory is happy about a climbing aid, where she can climb the sun. If she has no way to wind up, she simply grows on the ground at ground level or the shoots hang down the side of the pot. A climbing aid does not have to be very expensive. You can tie the shoots simply to a grid or even grow up on a piece of chain link fence on a downpipe or a pergola. While the young tendrils still have to be guided to the bars, an established plant usually finds its way up without help.

bucket Culture

As a rule, the climbing lily is cultivated with us as a container plant and pulled in the apartment or a conservatory. In summer, when the temperatures are permanently over 18 degrees, the plant may also be placed on a protected, sunny place on the balcony or terrace. If it gets cold at night, the magnificent lily must be temporarily moved to the apartment, as it is very sensitive to cold and strong temperature fluctuations.

  • use sturdy pot of terracotta or stone
  • must contain drainage holes on the bottom
  • Diameter: at least 50 to 60 cm
  • choose flat coasters instead of planters
  • Trellis (grid) offer

maintenance

If the Gloriosa rothschildiana has an optimal location and suitable substrate, it will grow vigorously without great care and produce beautiful, bizarre flowers over the summer. It is only necessary to water regularly and fertilize the plant.

to water

A medium level of humidity is enough for the pretty flowering plant. The substrate should be neither permanently wet nor permanently dry. Casting is always done when the top layer of the root ball is already slightly dry. With the onset of autumn, when the flowers and foliage slowly wither, the waterings are also stopped until the spring.

  • pour only with room-warm water
  • best with lime-poor water
  • ideal is stale rainwater

Fertilize

If the crown of glory has been planted in fresh, nutrient-rich soil as a rhizome in spring, it does not need to be fertilized in the first time. It is recommended to administer a long-term fertilizer after about four weeks, which supplies the plant with nutrients throughout the entire growing season. Alternatively, it is also possible to dose a liquid fertilizer for flowering plants on the irrigation water. This is necessary about every two weeks.

repotting

The perfect time to repot is spring, just before the crown of glory awakes from its hibernation again. Get the dormant rhizomes out of the ground or their winter quarters and remove all diseased and dead parts. As a rule, the old, withered tuber from the previous year has formed numerous new rhizomes, which can now be removed and planted in fresh substrate. At the same time, of course, the Gloriosa superba can also be propagated. Be sure to wear gloves when working on the tuber because the crown of fame is very poisonous, so skin contact with leaking plant juices must be avoided at all costs.

To cut

In principle, you should cut the climbing lily during the growing season only if it gets too big. Otherwise, in the fall, when the foliage is withered, a radical cut is necessary, which is carried out shortly above ground level. With the pruning in the fall, wait until the shoots start to die by themselves. Cut off the still green tendrils, it may be that the crown of glory can not store enough nutrients in the rhizomes to expire again next year.

toxicity

The Gloriosa superba (Gloriosa rothschildiana) contains alkaloids such as colchicine, which is also found in the autumnal timeless. All plant parts, especially the tuber of the glory crown, are therefore highly poisonous . Especially in their homeland, there are occasional fatal poisonings with the plant tuber. First symptoms appear after about two to six hours. In addition to burning in the mouth and throat it comes to severe gastrointestinal complaints with some bloody diarrhea, temperature drops and sweating, cramps, paralysis and circulatory collapse. In severe poisoning occurs respiratory paralysis. Special danger exists for:

  • small children
  • Pets
  • Pregnant women (toxins are mutagenic)

Immediately get used to touching and cutting the magnificent lily only with gloves so that you do not accidentally come into contact with the plant juices. And dispose of the cut in household waste as far as possible.

overwinter

After flowering, the Gloriosa rothschildiana takes a break and retreats into the subterranean parts of the plant in the fall. If the plant starts to wither, it will not be watered anymore. Foliage and shoots die and can be cut off. Plants that have been planted outdoors in the spring must be carefully excavated. The rhizomes of potted plants can be overwintered in the pot. To keep the excavated tubers from drying excessively over the winter, place them (like dahlias) in a box of sand. Fouled or damaged parts must be cut off and the interface disinfected (with charcoal powder).

  • Temperature: 10 to 15 degrees
  • dark
  • do not pour
  • do not fertilize

In early spring, bring the crown of fame back to the warm room, plant it in fresh substrate and pour it back on gently. After a short time, the plant will start again.

multiply

As a rule, the crown of glory is increased by its elongated rhizomes. The plant, planted in the spring, survives only one year, but forms new rhizomes in summer, which are stored over the winter. From March, the finger-thick tubers can then be used for the cultivation of the new generation of glory crowns.

seed

Even from seeds glory crowns can be propagated. Sowing the tropical plant is not for beginners, as they are very sensitive - especially to germs. You need the following items:

  • Greenhouse
  • alternatively planter or cultivation pots
  • transparent cover
  • Cactus soil, seed soil

The most important factor in sowing is that all utensils (including the seeds) are germ-free . Planters can either be sterilized with hot water or in the dishwasher, the substrate should be heated in the microwave for a few minutes to kill all germs. Since the seeds themselves may already be infected with fungi and bacteria, their shells must also be disinfected. As heat also destroys the seed, it is soaked for 24 hours in a dark, sealable vessel in a mixture of boiled (and chilled) water and hydrogen peroxide (10 ml peroxide plus 100 ml water). Then the seeds are placed on the moistened substrate with a clean wooden spatula and covered with substrate.

  • Cover (cover, glass plate, freezer bag)
  • Temperature: 20 to 25 degrees
  • bright but without direct sun
  • keep it evenly moist
  • air occasionally
  • Germination time: 6 weeks (sometimes longer)
  • only pique after the formation of at least four to six leaves

Diseases

Overall, the crown of glory is one of the sturdy plants that rarely fall ill - provided they are optimally cared for. Incorrect site and soil conditions as well as various care mistakes can lead to the plant only growing insufficiently, getting brown leaves or being attacked by pests.

aphids

Aphids increasingly occur when the plant is too cool or in the drafts. If the pests are rinsed off with the shower and the affected shoots are cut off, the plant usually recovers soon. In addition, the humidity should be increased.

Plant does not bloom

If there are still no flowers in the axils of the leaves until the end of June, something is wrong. The plant is very easy to care for. If it does not bloom, it can have a variety of causes:

  • too little light
  • is in the blazing midday sun (flower buds get a sunburn and dry up)
  • too much nitrogen in the soil (only leaves will form and the plant will not bloom)

If the shoots are cut back too early in the autumn, the crown of glory can not store enough nutrients in the newly formed rhizomes. In the coming spring, the plant then sprouts new and forms shoots and leaves, but it does not bloom, because you simply lack the power to do so. Therefore, the foliage may only be cut off when it is already clearly withered.

Brown leaves

Strong temperature fluctuations lead to cold or heat stress in the Gloriosa rothschildiana. This is expressed by yellow, withered leaves. If the temperatures have dropped too much, the leaves become flabby and yellow, sometimes slightly transparent. Plants that have been exposed to the blazing midday sun, get a sunburn and the foliage turns silvery to brown and dried up. Brown leaf tips, however, indicate a lack of water or too low humidity.

Category:
Rhododendron soil - mix azalea substrate yourself
Knitting Doll - Free Instructions for a Knitting Doll